top of page

Foundation awards 2024 Teacher Innovation Grants

Jan. 8, 2024


Elgin Education Foundation presented its 2024 Teacher Innovation Grant awards to Elgin ISD educators on Monday. The EEF Teacher Innovation Grants provide funding for programs and teaching tools that supplement classroom learning, and are fully funded by the Foundation.


Among the projects supported this year are a digital tool that provides sound effects and background music for print book read-alouds, 3-D printing technology and flexible seating.


This year’s grant winners and their respective campuses are:


Booker T. Washington Elementary

  • Dana Goerner (fourth grade dual language)

  • Angela Garza (kindergarten)

  • Maggie Gonzales (music)

  • Caitlin Culp (third grade Spanish/language arts)


Elgin Intermediate

  • Toni Garcia (fifth grade math interventionist)

  • Makenzi DeCrow (sixth grade RLA/SS)

  • Misty Simpson (librarian)

  • Sara Aleman (RLA instructional coach)

  • Ashley Hamilton (fifth grade RLA/SS)


Elgin Elementary

  • Ashley Rawson (librarian)

  • Elizabeth Wallace (kindergarten)

  • Kayla Arocha (fourth grade math/science/SS)

  • Abigail Callazo (pre-K)


Elgin Middle

  • Mallory Stover (SEL counselor)


Neidig Elementary

  • Christina Guerra (kindergarten dual language)

  • Kristy Clowdus (kindergarten)



The Elgin Education Foundation was established to form a partnership between the Elgin ISD community and the school district in support of innovative educational programs and activities. The EEF, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit tax-exempt organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors representative of the community and businesses served by Elgin ISD, aims to provide funds to facilitate student achievement and skill development and recognize and encourage staff excellence. 



bottom of page